

Nominations Committee

Committee Composition

| Chair: | The Secretary of the European Society of Endocrinology. |
|---------------------|---|
| Full members: | Two Executive Committee members, designated by the Executive Committee. |
| | 3-4 members An open call for available Committee positions will be advertised. ESE members can apply themselves or nominate someone else. Current Committee members can also make nominations. This Committee will review and vote on the applications/nominations received. The Committee Chair will then propose the new member(s) to the Executive Committee, who will ratify the new member(s). |
| | Committee members are chosen based on a combination of geographical and scientific considerations. They should be respected scientists with a record of excellence and with a broad range of scientific activities. In addition, they should be experienced and have a good overview of the Society and its activities. |
| Ex-officio members: | ESE President. ESE President-Elect. ECAS Representative to the Executive Committee). Chief Executive Officer. |
| Co-opted members: | Up to two additional members may be co-opted for a limited period to fulfil a specific role, subject to Executive Committee approval. |
| <u>Quorum</u> | Four (4) Full members including the Chair and one Executive Committee member. |
| Duration of Service | |
| Chair: | Co-terminous with office. |
| Full members: | Term of office is two years; any member will not serve longer than two terms. The term of office for Executive Committee members is co-terminous with office. |
| Ex-officio members: | Co-terminous with office. |
| Co-opted members: | Up to two years, but with the option to extend to four years in total with approval from the Executive Committee. |

ReportingThe Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the
Nominations Committee Chair.

MeetingsUsually one meeting a year however, additional meetings may be arranged by
video/teleconference.

<u>Remit</u>

Nominations for election to the Executive Committee

- 1. The Nominations Committee will seek proposals for nominations from individual members of ESE and affiliated endocrine societies.
- 2. The Nominations Committee will review the member nominations to confirm suitability and select the candidates to be put forward to the ballot. The number of candidates put forward to the ballot will be based upon the number of vacancies, which is typically two times the number of positions available plus one as the maximum. Areas of expertise, geographical distribution and gender should be taken into account when selecting nominees.
- 3. At any given time at least two basic scientists should be members of the Executive Committee, and the Nominations Committee will take this into account as a priority when deciding on the nominations.
- 4. The ESE Executive Committee have a veto right. If a nomination is vetoed, a joint discussion of the Nominations Committee and the Executive Officers Board and/or Executive Committee should take place.

Nominations for Committee vacancies

1. The Nominations Committee will review nominations received for individual committee vacancies and provide any comment in regard to balancing the overall committee membership in terms of diversity to the individual Committee Chair for consideration.

Nominations for ESE Awards

- 1. The Nominations Committee should actively seek potential nominees for the ESE's Awards, currently Geoffrey Harris Award, EJE Award, CEJFA Award, Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award, and the European Hormone Medal Award. The membership will also have the opportunity to nominate.
- 2. The Nominations Committee to review the jury procedures from time to time.
- 3. The Nominations Committee to review the awards programme and make recommendations for amendments or to make suggestions for new awards.

Note:

- The Nomination Committee members are not eligible for being put forward for election or awards during their term of office on the Committee.
 For the election:
- b. The Executive Committee is able to put forward additional nominations (up to two per vacancy) to ensure that there is at least one candidate put forward for election which meets the required criteria set out by the Executive Committee.
- c. The selection of nominees should ideally be carried out 6 months, but at least 4 months, prior to the next AGM of ESE, to allow for review of the ballot by the ESE Executive Committee. Nominations for President-elect should be taken at least 6 months prior to the next AGM.
- d. Distribution of the ballot to the membership should be at least 1 month prior to the next AGM.

Additional notes

- All Committee members need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.
- Committee members should make every effort to attend all meetings. Any Committee member who does not attend a meeting for a year will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
- The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.
- All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.
- All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.

Additional notes

- Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the member concerned should take no part in the discussion.
- The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.
- The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of ESE's Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy.

Current membership Chair

Maria Chiara Zatelli, Italy, co-terminous with office, (Secretary; 2022-2026).

Full members László Hunyady, Hungary, (2023-2025). George Mastorakos, Greece, (2023-2025) Niina Matikainen, Finland, (2024 -2026)

Executive Committee members Eleanor Davies, UK, co-terminous with office, (until 2027) Elena Valassi, Spain, co-terminous with office, (until 2028)

Ex-officio

Jérôme Bertherat, France, co-terminous with office, (President, 2023-2025). Wiebke Arlt, UK, co-terminous with office, (President-Elect, 2023-2025). Anton Luger, Austria, co-terminous with office, (ECAS representative, 2020-2024). Helen Gregson, Chief Executive Officer, co-terminous with office.

ESE Team Member Responsibility: Head of Finance, Governance and Office.