

Finance Committee

Committee Composition

Chair:	Treasurer of the European Society of Endocrinology.
Full members:	ESE President. ESE President-Elect. ESE Immediate past President. ESE Immediate past Treasurer.
	Up to two additional members proposed by the Committee outside of and ratified by the Executive Committee. A non-endocrinologist with a finance background should be considered.
Ex-officio members:	Chief Executive Officer. Director of Strategic Partnerships.
Co-opted members:	Up to two additional members may be co-opted for a limited period to fulfil a specific role, subject to Executive Committee approval.
<u>Quorum</u>	Four (4) full members including the Chair.
Duration of Service	
Chair(s):	Co-terminous with office.
Full members:	Four years or co-terminous with office, where applicable.
Ex-officio members:	Co-terminous with office.
Co-opted members:	Up to two years, but with the option to extend to four years in total with approval from the Executive Committee.
<u>Reporting</u>	The Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the Finance Committee Chair.
<u>Meetings</u>	Two or three meetings per year (usually Spring, ECE (European Congress of Endocrinology) and Autumn). The Spring and Autumn meetings to be held alongside the Executive Committee meetings where possible or remotely by video conference.
<u>Remit</u>	 To advise the Executive Committee on financial strategy with the overall aim of financial sustainability of ESE. To receive and review overall annual budgets, highlighting issues and make recommendations to the Executive Committee. To receive and review major committee project budgets, highlighting issues and make recommendations to the Executive Committee. To review new projects and programs, and expansions to existing programs, which have a financial impact and make recommendations to the Executive Committee.

- 5. To review, usually via the Treasurer, the annual financial statements, before submission for approval by the Executive Committee.
- 6. To review the reserves policy.
- 7. To review the renumeration and bonus structure of the CEO.

Additional notes

- All Committee members (except the non-endocrinologist) need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.
- Committee members should make every effort to attend all meetings. Any Committee member who does not attend a meeting for a year will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
- The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.
- All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.
- All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.
- Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the members concerned should take no part in the discussion.
- The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.
- The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of <u>ESE's Equality</u>, <u>Diversity and Inclusion Policy</u>.
- Committee membership should represent the key areas of interest; geographical spread; and gender considerations.

Current membership

Chair

Sebastian Neggers, Netherlands, co-terminous with office, (Treasurer, 2023- 2027) *

Full members

Jérôme Bertherat, France, co-terminous with office, (President, 2023-2025). Wiebke Arlt, UK, co-terminous with office, (President-elect, 2023-2025). Martin Reincke, Germany, co-terminous with office, (Past-President, 2023-2025). Djuro Macut, Serbia, co-terminous with office, (Past-Treasurer, 2020 – 2024). Philip Cheek, UK, non-endocrinologist member.

Ex-officio

Helen Gregson, Chief Executive Officer, co-terminous with office. Dirk De Rijdt, Director of Strategic Partnerships, co-terminous with office.

ESE Team member responsibility: Head of Governance, Finance and Office.

*Sebastian Neggers' term of office for the Executive Committee is 2023-2027 and as Treasurer from 2024.