



## **ESE Young Endocrinologists and Scientists (EYES) Committee**

## **Committee Composition**

Co-Chairs:	Two members of the European Society of Endocrinology (ESE), designated by EYES and ratified by the Executive Committee.
Full members:	Typically, 7 members, but with the flexibility to increase to 10 members if required.
	An open call for available Committee positions will be advertised. ESE members can apply themselves or nominate someone else. Current Committee members can also make nominations. This Committee will review and vote on the applications/nominations received. The Committee Chair will then propose the new member(s) to the Executive Committee, who will ratify the new member(s).
	Committee membership is open to those who do not hold an Associate Professor/tenured or higher position, and must be in one of the categories below:
	<ol> <li>currently in-training (for clinicians) or a Masters/PhD student,</li> <li>current researcher &lt;10 years post-PhD/MD</li> <li>&lt;5 years since the completion of residency (for clinicians)</li> </ol>
Ex-officio members:	A member of the Executive Committee, designated by the Executive Committee.
Co-opted members:	The designated EYES representative from the various ESE Committees, for reporting and feedback purposes (if not already a committee member).
<u>Quorum</u>	Fifty percent (50%) of Full Members (including the Chair) +1.
Duration of Service	
Co-Chairs:	Two years.
Full members:	Four years.
Ex-officio members:	Co-terminous with office.
Co-opted members:	Co-terminous with office.
Reporting	The Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the EYES Committee Co-Chair.

<u>Meetings</u>	1-2 face-to-face meetings per year. In addition, video call meetings will be scheduled every two months. Minutes are taken at every meeting and stored on the EYES Google drive.
	The work of the committee is very important. Committee members are expected to attend all committee meetings and to participate in committee related email communications. Committee members who do not attend three consecutive meetings (or one meeting in a year if meetings are held annually) will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
<u>Additional notes</u>	<ul> <li>All Committee members need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.</li> <li>The work of the committee is very important. Committee members are expected to attend all committee meetings and to participate in committee related email communications.</li> <li>Committee members who do not attend three consecutive meetings (or one meeting in a year if meetings are held annually) will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.</li> <li>The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.</li> <li>All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.</li> <li>The use of an Al 'otter' to join meetings/take notes at a committee meeting is not permitted unless expressly authorised by the Chair.</li> <li>All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.</li> <li>Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the member concerned should take no part in the discussion.</li> <li>The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.</li> <li>The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of ESE's Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy.</li> <li>Committee membership should represent the key areas of a start of the member committee start of the start of the principles of the should represent the key areas of the start of the principles of the should represent the key areas of the terms of the start of the principles of the should represent the key areas of the terms of the start of the principles of the should represent the key areas of the terms of the principles of the should not performed and the principles of the should not performed and the principles of the should not performed and the principles of the should not perf</li></ul>
	<ul> <li>The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.</li> <li>The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of <u>ESE's Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy</u>.</li> </ul>

## Current membership

<u>Co-chairs</u> Walter Vena, Italy (2021-2025). Juan Manuel Jiménez-Vacas, UK (2021-2026).

## Full members

Barbara Altieri, Germany (2022-2026). Julia Beck, Switzerland (2023-2027). Clara Lazzaretti, Italy, (2024-2028). Jonathan Mertens, Belgium, (2022-2026). Karin Zibar Romsic, Croatia (2023-2027). Kristina Saravinovska, Serbia (2023-2027).

NB. EYES Committee representatives in ESE Committees are: Walter Vena, Italy, ExCo Ex-Officio, EYES Deputy News Editor & Publishing and Comms Committee. Juan Manuel Jiménez-Vacas, UK, EYES News Editor, Science Committee Barbara Altieri, Germany, Clinical Committee. Julia Beck, Switzerland, Membership Committee Kristina Saravinovska, Serbia, Rare Disease Committee Karin Zibar Tomsic, Croatia, Education Commitee